IFNA – ICNA – & – ISNA Moon-Sighting Announcements

September 4, 2008 by  


Eid-ul-Fitr likely on the same day

According to the statement received from the Islamic Foundation of North America (IFNA) Central Moon-Sighting Committee, the First Ramadan was on Tuesday, September 02, 2008. “Since there is no positive moon sighting in North America, we are completing 30 days of Shaban, 1429 and starting Ramadan on Tuesday, September 02nd, 2008. Ramadan Mubarak!! May Allah SWT help and guide all Ummah to all the best. Aameen.”

As per the Islamic Circle of North America (ICNA) website: “In the Name of Allah, the Most Compassionate, the Most Merciful: In consultation with National Islamic Organizations and Local Hilaal Committees,) it has been determined that the moon was not sighted on the night of (August 31, 2008 / Shaban 29, 1429) [based on the local sighting of the moon]. Ramadan will begin on Tuesday September 02, 2008. ICNA’s Tarbiyah Dept has also made a Ramadan Planner available for your benefit, which is available at www.icna.org.

As per the Islamic Society of North America (ISNA) website:

The Astronomical New Moon for Ramadan is on Saturday, August 30, 2008 at 19:58 Universal Time (i.e., 3:58pm. EDT, and 12:58pm. PDT). According to the criteria adopted by the Fiqh Council of North America, and European Council for Fatwa and Research, [the conjunction before sunset and moon setting after sunset in Makkah], the first day of Ramadan is on Monday, September 01, 2008.

The Astronomical New Moon for Shawwal is on Monday, September 29, 2008 at 8:12 GMT, 4:12am. EDT, 1:12am. PDT). According to the criteria adopted by the Fiqh Council of North America, and European Council for Fatwa and Research, the first day of Shawwal is on Wednesday, October 01, 2008.

Many people have said that since a 30 days month is usually followed by 29 days month, as such Eid-ul-Fitr will be most likely celebrated by all in North America on the same day.

10-37

Print Friendly

Comments

Feel free to leave a comment...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!